skip to Main Content
Welcoming Steve Tremble, Executive Director

The Bainbridge Schools Foundation is pleased to announce Steve Tremble as the organization’s new Executive Director. Steve comes to the Bainbridge Schools Foundation with over 25 years of experience in the non-profit sector including executive and board leadership, fundraising, planning, stakeholder relations, and operations. Steve most currently was the Executive Director of Bainbridge Arts & Crafts and previously held leadership fundraising roles with Seattle ArtsFund and The Nature Conservancy.

“Steve comes to BSF with the great combination of Executive Director and Fundraising experience coupled with a working knowledge of how to run a successful nonprofit on Bainbridge Island,” said Scott Covey, Foundation President. “These skills and experiences will be vital, as Steve navigates BSF through the current challenging times and works to build a stronger and more impactful BSF for our students.”

At the Bainbridge Schools Foundation, Tremble will be working with donors, community partners, and the school district to develop and deliver sustainable funding resources for the island’s public schools. His experience with strategic planning, marketing, and resource development in this shifting time of education will be an asset for our schools and community. Tremble will assume his duties in August.

“The importance of a strong partner engaged with the public schools cannot be underestimated. It is a challenge in normal times for our schools to do what they do, taking our children in and engendering confidence,” said Tremble. “In these not so normal times with their added concerns, there is a rich opportunity to focus on the core institutions that are essential to building our community. BSF, in partnership with BISD, is in a position to fully meet the current challenge, and I cannot think of anywhere I would rather be at this moment.”

Tremble and his wife Tamar Kupiec are islanders with two children in the Bainbridge Island School District.

In the last decade, BSF has contributed more than $10 million to fund additional teachers and specialists in the classroom, provide academic support for students that need a boost, and empower our teachers with professional development, mentorship opportunities, and classroom grants. As changes in public education shift in the wake of recent economic and health situations, BSF pledges to continue to support students and teachers on their growing needs. Now, more than ever, it takes an island to ensure our students have the tools they need to succeed.

Get to know our 2020-21 Board President, Scott Covey

Nearly seven years ago, my wife Amy and I moved to Bainbridge Island. We knew the strong community and excellent schools were the foundation we wanted for our growing family. Now, with three children enrolled in our public schools and a fourth eagerly awaiting kindergarten, we are so proud and grateful to call this community our home. 

In my time on the island, and especially my two years on the board of the Bainbridge Schools Foundation, I have witnessed the amazing generosity and support that the BI community gives our students to help them reach their goals and pursue their passions. It’s because of the individuals that support BSF by volunteering their time, sharing their professional expertise, and donating generously that we are able to impact Every Student, Every Day. 

As we face the uncertainty of COVID-19, BSF promises to continue to find ways to support and expand the educational experience for our students. As students pursue their education both online and in the classroom, it is our commitment to ensure each and every student has the resources they need to succeed. 

Board of Directors

Scott Covey, President
Anna Steen, Past President
Mike Lewars, Treasurer
Piper Thornburgh, Secretary


Peter Bang-Knudsen*
Lindsay Browning
Jerry Childers
Tricia Corsetti*
Bill Covert*
Mark Emerson*
Tara Hilgers
Michelle Hobbs
Maggie Jain
* ex-officio (non-voting)


April Murray
Troy Niehaus
Kathleen Phillips
Clint Ramsey
Joanie Ransom
Caroline Reed
Tamara Turner
Polly Young

Advisory Council

Former board members and major donors who are dedicated to staying connected to BSF and who contribute advice and wisdom to our organization.

Jennifer Kim, Chair
Vicky Marsing
Molly Nikunen
Anne Blair
Nicole Leiker
Karen Segerson

Julie Yunt
Marianne Lindsey
Rob Dalton
Sarah Bullock
Mendy Droke
Elizabeth Chambers

Jennifer Pells
Fred Pabst
Andrea Pickett
Juliet LeDorze
Rob Bernard
Amin Neghabat

Jennifer Solseng
Paul Greenawalt
Carleen Gosney
Louisa Barash
Dana Greenawalt
Teaque Lenahan


Steve Tremble
Executive Director


Lisa Timmins
Interim Operations Manager


Elsa Watson
Development Associate


Allison Brock
Events Coordinator


Krista Tracy
Development Assistant



Musings on the importance of our mission from BSF board members.

Funding the future—

preparing students for lives

we cannot yet see.

Education needs

impactful dollars well spent,

changing students’ lives.

Each child a world of

possibility—let us

open every door.